Barroso wins the Parliament’s vote – though without great enthusiasm

The European Parliament has today voted for Barroso to be the Commission president – 382 MEPs voted for him, 219 against and 117 abstained – which was enough to give him the job, but clearly also shows a considerable level of opposition, reflected by the quotes in this BBC story.

The next step in creating a new line-up of European Commissioners is on hold until after the Irish vote again on the LIsbon treaty on 2nd October. At some point after this vote (whatever the outcome), Barroso will start to put together the team of 26 other Commissioners, using the people nominated by EU governments. The European Parliament will then get a chance to question and vote on these nominees.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s